Thank you so much for your involvement with the Owner's Club Forum! We hope you've gotten some great information and had the chance to interact with other owners on the current system.

New Potential SS 188 O/B owner

mark917
mark917 Member Posts: 4
Glad I found this place! Looking to pick buy a 2014 SS 188 O/B this week. While not necessarily new to boating I am new to DB's. Have a 19' Mako CC that I use in saltwater on Barnegat Bay and Manahawkin Creek in NJ. Most of our Bay is protected AND SHALLOW but we can get 1-3 footers and come up against some pretty big boat wakes in the channels. Hence some of my concern. The trade off is that this boat will be extremely stable at rest and in the coves where we usually tube, etc. HOW WILL I USE IT: I have three small girls and will use it for cruising, tubing, etc with them, thier friends and other families that visit us. WHAT ARE MY CONCERNS/QUESTIONS: - Wife and girls hate the pounding of the Mako (it has little cushioning, is a CC and not family friendly. It is a deep V and cuts the water well but the ride is meant for expereinced folks. I have read on this forum that this boat will take 2' chop ok. For those of you that have this setup, (188 with Yamaha 150) how bad is the pounding in the front at 2' and worse (big wake from oncoming vessels)? Is there anything that can be done to offset (smart tabs, regular trims, etc)? - How many adults/children have you maxed out with on this vessel and how was the performance (time to plane, speed, etc)? Price for the boat with Stainless steel, hydralic steering and tilt wheel,ski tow bar, Sony CDMX20, playpen cover and carpet is 22955 boat only with 115. Upgrade to 150 is about 4K I believe. Does this sound like a good price? Excited about hearing good things. I hear that build quality is great and most folks have a great time on these but just want to be sure. I know it will match my needs but I hear that other brands (Stingray, Nautic star) with a higher degree of deadrise may