Thank you so much for your involvement with the Owner's Club Forum! We hope you've gotten some great information and had the chance to interact with other owners on the current system.

Help with proper prop selection

skibum
skibum Member Posts: 56 ✭✭
Recently purchased a 2013 fundeck 226 re4 with a 2013 yamaha sho/vmax 200 4 stroke. The dealer installed a 15×17 saltwater seriesII yamaha prop on it. I am only getting 5200 rpm at wot at about 44mph on gps. Boat is tremendous out of the hole and pulled me out on slalom at half throttle. I am an ex amateur tournament skier and not easy to get out on a deep water start. What would be a good size prop for good holeshot and topend speed. This boat should run about 50 mph gps proped correctly. The dealer will let me change props at no charge. Just don't want to spend all day experimenting if I can narrow it down to a few sizes. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Capt_Steve
    Capt_Steve Member Posts: 416 admin
    @skibum ... that sounds like a really accommodating dealer! 

• nquirk
    nquirk Member, Moderator Posts: 672 ✭✭✭✭

@skibum.  You'd have to work with your dealer to figure out the WOT for that engine.  You may be able to stay with a 17 pitch but consider a 4 or 5 blade prop to give you better hole shot.  I get much better performance with my 5 blade for that.

Also, realize that if you change the pitch to give you better hole shot, you'll trade off top end speed which makes me believe the 15x17 is in the right range.  I'm getting 51-52MPH WOT @5800RPMs with a 200HP Mercury so I'd suspect you can change your pitch higher but don't know the top end RPMs that motor produces.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    2010 Hurricane SS 188 OB
    2010 Mercury Optimax 200HP / Mercury SS High Five 19P
    2010 Trailmaster SC trailer
  • skibum